California Window Tinting Laws
When you imagine California, you’ll see beach waves, surfers, and Hollywood pictures. This state has a hotter temperature than the Los Angeles and Death Valley environment which has been regarded as two of America’s sunniest locations.
Due to this extremely hot weather, it is strongly recommended that any car owner have window tints installed in their vehicle to shield themselves and their car from the sun’s harmful damages.
If you intend to tint your car glass, visit a professional car window tinting firm like Global Tint. And upon having your car windows tint set-up, make sure you are aware of the tinting laws in California.
In 1999, the California window tinting laws were enacted. It addresses the darkness allowed which may be the reflection of your window tints on your car.
In California, there is what you call the Visible Light Transmission for window tinting darkness. That refers to the percentage of visible light that can be transmitted through the windows of your car.
A non-reflective tint is allowed on the top four inches of the windshield for vehicles of sedan form. For the front side windows, a Visible Light Transmission of at least 70 percent is required. Some shadow can be added to the back and rear door.
70 percent VLT and 77 percent light for SUVs and vans. The rear, side, and front windows will be more reflective than a regular car window when it comes to window tint reflection.